Read More: Girls Junior PGA Championship History

One of golf’s major championships for juniors, the Girls Junior PGA Championship is where the best in the world got their start. The inaugural Championship was held in 1976 at Walt Disney World Resort in Orlando, Fla., and has continued to be a popular stop on the national junior circuit.

Until 2017 both the Boys and Girls Junior PGA Championships were one Championship but transitioned to two separate Championships. This change allowed a growth in field size and the Championships to be played at separate venues and dates.

The 144-player field is comprised of 82 players who qualify through their PGA Section and the remainder of the field is based on national junior/amateur events and special exemptions. To see the full list of Invitation criteria, click HERE.

The Girls Junior PGA Championship has been contested on 12 storied golf courses, including, but not limited to PGA National Resort (hosted 19 Championships), Bellerive Country Club, and Pinehurst Resort & Country Club.

Past participants include Lexi Thompson, Michelle Wie, Ariya Juntanugarn, Cristie Kerr, and Inbee Park.

Scroll to top